Town Council


Form of Government

The Town of University Park has its own municipal government, consisting of an elected Mayor and seven Councilmembers that represent the seven wards of the Town. Council meeting debates are often lively, as the future of University Park is always a matter of interest and discussion. 


Common Council consists of seven members and a Mayor who shall be elected as set forth in Article V of the Town Charter. The Mayor and Councilmembers shall each hold office for a term of two years. No person shall serve in the same elected position for more than three consecutive two-year terms.


The Council shall have the power to pass all such ordinances and resolutions not contrary to the constitution, the State of Maryland or the Town Charter (Town Charter, Article IV, Section 402).

Regular Meetings

  • 7:30 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Mondays of every month with the exception of August where Council meets only once. If a holiday is observed on a Monday, the Council will meet the next day.
  • Due to COVID-19, all Council meetings are held virtually. To join a meeting, look to the Council meeting agenda in the Agenda Center.

2022 Meeting Schedule (PDF)


For Mayor Lenford Carey's information and biography, visit the Mayor's Office page.


Click on the Councilmember pictures below to read biographies and learn more about our Council.

Joel Biermann, Ward 1

20 06 15 CM Biermann pic

Mary Gathercole, Ward 2

Mary Gathercole Headshot

Laurie Morrissey, Ward 3

CM Morrissey photo

Nathaniel Morgan, Ward 4

Nathaniel Morgan's headshot

David McGaughey, Ward 5

DMcGaughey headshot

Martha Wells, Ward 6

Councilmember for Ward 6 Martha Wells

Roland Stephen, Ward 7

Councilmember Roland Stephen Head Shot

Ward Map

View our ward map (PDF) of University Park to determine which ward you live in and learn who is your Councilmember representative.

Tentative Council Agenda Items

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to Council meetings. Minutes are available following approval by Council.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes